Recipe: Citrus Berry Smoothie

I’ve noticed lately that lots of people are joining into the juicing fad that’s been going around, but I’ll tell you, I much prefer a smoothie when I’m craving something fruity or sweet. Homemade juices pack vitamins and nutrients, but the juicing process strips away the fiber from fruit and vegetables. Blending the produce provides you will all of the above! Plus, the fiber helps keep you full longer, leading to more successful dieting.

Smoothies pack a lot of health benefits! And they’re great because they’re easily customizable. You can find hundreds of recipes out there, like the one I’m giving you here, and they’re fantastic—but when you don’t have the exact ingredients a recipe calls for, don’t fret. It’s easy and fun to experiment with whatever fruits, vegetables, juices, yogurts, seeds, and more you have at your disposal.

Citrus Berry Smoothie

Citrus Berry Smoothie

Total time: 40 min
     Prep time: 10 min
     Cook time: 40 min
Serves: 4
Level: Easy

Description:

This meal-in-a-glass smoothie is bursting with berries and orange juice, healthful sources of carbohydrate and powerful antioxidants. Getting plenty of antioxidant-rich foods makes sense for active people, since free radicals are produced any time the body’s cells process oxygen.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups fresh berries
  • 3/4 cup low-fat plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 2 tablespoons nonfat dry milk
  • 1 tablespoon toasted wheat germ
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preparation:

  1. Place berries, yogurt, orange juice, dry milk, wheat germ, honey and vanilla in a blender and blend until smooth.

As a side note, if you find yourself becoming more and more interested in smoothies, I would recommend researching the highest quality blender that you can reasonably get within your price range, whatever that may be. I know that I have quite a bit of trouble with my inexpensive one, and it’s very frustrating to spend so much time stirring, shaking, and pressing buttons when I really just want to drink my delicious smoothie—not to mention all of the chunks left behind without a smooth blend. There’s a lot of information out there, so make sure to do your research for the best deal. The Ninja, Vitamix, and Blendtec brands come very highly recommended, but can be quite pricey. Personally, I’m looking to potentially purchase the Ninja, as it is much more cost efficient, and I certainly don’t need a high end blender just for little ‘ol me.

Blenders

These models range from $100 for the Ninja, $449 for the Vitamix, and $525 for the Blendtec.

 

